WATCH: ‘Babar frenzy’ hits Bangaldesh as fans line up to get glimpse of star batter

Babar along with more than dozen Pakistani players are featuring in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL)

With a strong fan base within Pakistan comprising of staunch supporters, Babar Azam is arguably one of the most iconic Pakistani sports stars of the modern era and it seems that his fan following transcends geographical boundaries after he was surrounded by Bangladeshi fans during his stay in the South Asian nation.

Babar, who is currently featuring in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) for Rangpur Riders, was on his way to the team bus when he was surrounded by a large number of fans as well as media personnel who were lined up to see him.

Earlier, the 29-year-old played a match-winning knock to help the Riders win an important match against Sylhet Strikers.

Upon being instructed to bat first, Strikers were restricted to a total of 120 runs, having lost eight wickets in the first innings.

Babar made his presence felt when he executed a direct hit to remove Dushan Hemantha in the final over.

Meanwhile, Babar’s side faced a challenging situation from the start of the chase as they lost six wickets at the score of 39.

However, Babar and Azmatullah Omarzai combined efforts to forge a match-winning partnership of 89 runs, ultimately steering the Riders to triumph in a closely contested match. 

Their robust partnership and proficient batting paved the way for an exhilarating victory by four wickets as they achieved the target in 18.2 overs.

The Pakistani star batter played a crucial role, staying unbeaten with a well-executed 56 runs from 49 deliveries, featuring six boundaries, at a striking rate of 114.28.

Full list of Pakistan players featuring in BPL 2024

Chattogram Challengers

Muhammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain

Comilla Victorians

Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmad, Zaman Khan, Khushdil Shah, Naseem Shah

Durdanto Dhaka

Saim Ayub, Usman Qadir

Fortune Barishal

Fakhar Zaman, Mohammed Amir, Abbas Afridi, Shoaib Malik

Khulna Tigers

Faheem Ashraf

Rangpur Riders

Babar Azam, Ihsanullah

Sylhet Strikers


It must be noted that many Pakistan players have not received NOCs to feature in this tournament due to the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) rule of allowing players for only two leagues in a year.


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *