Pak vs NZ: Pakistan put to bat first in fourth T20I against New Zealand

Green Shirts make one change in playing XI with Sahibzada Farhan replacing Azam Khan

Pakistan and New Zealand players during the toss in Christchurch on January 19, 2024. — X/@PCB
Pakistan and New Zealand players during the toss in Christchurch on January 19, 2024. — X/@PCB

New Zealand chose to bowl first after winning the toss against Pakistan in the fourth match of the T20I series being played in Christchurch on Friday. 

The Green Shirts, being led by Shaheen Shah Afridi, have made one change in the playing XI with Sahibzada Farhan replacing Azam Khan for the fourth match. 

New Zealand opener Devon Conway was ruled out hours before the match after testing positive for COVID-19.

“Conway has been in isolation at the team’s Christchurch hotel after testing positive yesterday,” New Zealand Cricket (NZC) said in a statement.

“He will continue to be monitored ahead of Sunday’s final match against Pakistan.”

Canterbury Kings batter Chad Bowes will join the squad as cover for Conway.

Bowling coach Andre Adams has also tested positive for Covid, NZC added.

Spinner Mitch Santner, who is leading New Zealand in the absence of injured regular skipper Kane Williamson, missed the series opener for the same reason.

In the third T20I, Finn Allen blasted 137 off 62 balls, the highest score by a New Zealand batter in a T20I, to secure his team’s series-clinching 45-run victory against Pakistan in Dunedin on Wednesday.

The opener clobbered 16 sixes, the joint-most in an innings in men’s T20 Internationals, to power New Zealand to an imposing 224-7 at the University Oval.

Pakistan managed 179-7 in reply, including Babar Azam’s (58) third fifty of the series, as New Zealand took an unassailable 3-0 lead in the five-match series.

This is Pakistan’s first series under new T20 captain Shaheen ahead of this year’s 20-overs World Cup in June.

New Zealand won the first T20I by 46 runs, while they clinched the second by a margin of 21 runs.

The last match of the series is also scheduled in Christchurch on Sunday.


Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi (c), Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Tim Seifert (wk), Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Philipps, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner (c), Adam Milne, Matthew Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *